Google Shared Drives
A Google Shared Drive is a shared space where:
- Members of a shared drive share ownership of any files and folders.
- If someone leaves the shared drive, any files they added will stay.
- If the owner, creator, or manager of the shared drive leaves the institution, the shared drive and any files they contributed will stay.
- You can still share files and folder with a link or invite.
Any faculty, staff, or currently enrolled student can create a shared drive.
Create a shared drive
Shared Drive managers can add members to the drive.
Shared Drive managers can remove members or change their rights.
- Members of Google Shared Drives can have any one of these roles.
- Manager: Can manage members, and upload, edit, move, or delete all files.
- Content Manager: By default, can upload, edit, move, or delete all files.
- Contributor: Edit all files and upload new files, but can’t move or delete files.
- Commenter: Can only comment on all files.
- Viewer: Can only view all files.
||Move & Delete
||Edit & Upload
Additional options are available. To learn more about Google Shared Drives, review this article from Google.